RCC Inducts 82 Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

ASHEBORO (April 23, 2018)

On Saturday, April 14, 2018, Beta Theta Rho, the local Five Star Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Randolph Community College, welcomed 82 new members, the second largest group in the chapter’s 19-year history, during its fall Induction Ceremony which took place in the R. Alton Cox Learning Resources Center auditorium on the Asheboro Campus.

Randolph Community College welcomed 82 new Phi Theta Kappa scholars on Nov. 18, with nearly 50 new members, pictured in these two photos, attending the ceremony.

Clark Adams, RCC English/Communication instructor and one of the chapter advisors, welcomed the crowd and explained the purpose and mission of Phi Theta Kappa.
Adams then introduced Charles Skeen, an RCC alumnus who is the president of Atlas Training Corporation, a company that delivers customized technical training to high tech manufacturing firms in North Carolina. Skeen completed his Associate in Applied Science in Machining Technology in 2007 and in 2008, completed his Associate in Arts, both at RCC. In 2011, he graduated from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. While he was a student at RCC, he became a member of Phi Theta Kappa, served as a Foundation Ambassador, and served two terms as president of the Student Government Association.
Skeen shared his experiences as a student at RCC and provided life lessons he learned along the way. He challenged students to set goals and “prepare to win.” He encouraged them to develop connections with their instructors and fellow students, to challenge themselves, and to learn from their mistakes. 
The keynote speaker was Dr. Robert S. Shackleford Jr., who has been president of RCC since January 1, 2007. Shackleford asked the question, “How do you know you have made it in life? What defines success?” He shared responses from an online survey and then shared his thoughts on what it means to be successful. He explained to the inductees that it is important for them to follow their passion, do what they love, and to do it to the best of their ability. He stressed the importance of integrity and that at the end of one’s life, “it’s all about relationships,” not fame, money, or prestige.
Jasmin Faz, vice president of Beta Theta Rho, explained the significance of the carnation as the symbol of Phi Theta Kappa and led the new inductees in the Phi Theta Kappa pledge. Suzanne Rohrbaugh, vice president for instructional services, introduced the inductees. Inductees first signed the Phi Theta Kappa membership roster, which was held by Jose Lopez, Beta Theta Rho’s treasurer. Once the roster was signed, Jasmin Faz, Beta Theta Rho vice president, handed each inductee a carnation. Maria Jose Cruz Rivera and Maria Fernanda Cruz Rivera, who are both Phi Theta Kappa members, served as ushers for the ceremony. A reception in the Armadillo Café followed the ceremony and was hosted by other RCC Phi Theta Kappa advisors: Dolores De Haro (Spanish instructor), Gabby Nall (Spanish instructor), and Ellen Adams (Mathematics instructor). Scotty Duyck (department head, social/behavioral sciences) is also a Phi Theta Kappa advisor and assisted with the ceremony.
Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the only international honor society serving two-year institutions. It recognizes the academic achievement and integrity of students enrolled in curriculum programs. Students who are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa must have completed 12 credit hours and must possess a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.          
Beta Theta Rho, RCC’s Chapter, was chartered on November 1, 1999. RCC’s chapter has maintained a Five Star status for 15 consecutive years. This Five Star status recognizes chapters that have completed every requirement set by Phi Theta Kappa and for chapters that go above and beyond to make sure their projects are the very best they can be.
At the Phi Theta Kappa Carolinas Regional Convention held in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, March 9-11, the chapter received the following awards based on its work in 2017: Distinguished Chapter Officer Team; Distinguished Chapter Member: Joshua Castro (RECHS senior); Five Star Chapter (Highest Level a Chapter Can Get-15th Consecutive Year); Award of Excellence For Outstanding Participation in the Carolinas Region Service Program: Read To Succeed; Distinguished Regional Honors in Action Project Award of Excellence For Outstanding Participation In the Carolinas Region Honors in Action Program; Distinguished Honors in Action Project: Honorable Mention; and Honors Case Study Challenge: Honorable Mention.
Students (identified by hometowns) who were inducted on April 14 include the following:
Archdale: Jacelyn Mayely Jimenez, Ashley Teague Mabe, Annastasia Nicole Myers-Kiker, Mercedes Lynn Parker, Jesse Taylor Tawasha, Steven Anthony Wilson.
Asheboro: Luke Christian Alderman, Kendra Shae Andrews, Kaeli Jasmine Auman, Abigail Jordan Baynes, William Matthew Brasher, Michelle Diane Butts, Robert Shelton Christmas, Donna Kearns Cole, Casey Dewidt Critchfield, Benjamin Lacy Cross, Billy Charles Edward Davis III, Sarah Lee Dufour, Iris Merida Espinoza, Maria Lopez Fernandez, Carmen Garcia, Katie Lynne Garner, Matthew Ray Kendrick, Dafne Johana Lopez, Amy Cole Lynthacum, Angela Fonville Marley, Cristian Martinez Blanno, Savannah Paige Myrick, Meghan Annemarie Needham, Emily Marie Paparello, Anders Emanuel Perez, Shahmaen Ali Raja, Ydalia Monique Remonenq, Nicholas Scott Soule, Matthew Dwayne Swaney, Brentley Adam Tessier, Daryn Ray Trogdon, Kristina Robin Buck Young.
Biscoe:  Jennifer Leigh Milliken.
Burlington: Teresa Sue Herring.
Climax: Velvet Kidd Chaffin, Jordan Samantha Corbett, Taylor Lynn Whittington.
Franklinville: Jannie Rose Billups, Sarah H. Brower, Danielle Rebecca Handley, Belinda Davis Hicks.
High Point: Jessica Roella Hoover.
Liberty: Emily Reyes Castro, Yasmin Carolina Cervantes, Micah Joseph Griffith.
Locust: Michelle Nicole Chapman.
Pleasant Garden: Kristen Leigh Andreoli, Steven Joshua Dillon.
Ramseur: Kiersten Amber Brower, Jarod Logan Dill, Alexia Leche Farrish, Clayton Dean Flinchum, Sarah Belle Hicks, Amanda Gayle Smith.
Randleman: Annie Bell Bray, Caitlyn Marie Edwards, Rachel Nicole Lowe, Raven Elizabeth Miller, Dalton Reid Moody, Sawyer Matthew Pierce, Nicole Danielle Sheron, Jose Manuel Valencia.
Robbins: Jessica Mae Forbes.
Seagrove: Haley Lauren Garner.
Sophia: Carol Ann Brown.
Staley: Gracie Mekayla Coble, Grant Edward Lafferty, Brooklyn Jade Mayle, Victoria Ruiz.
Star: Owen Thomas Keating.
Thomasville: Nicholas Cole Cunningham, Tuong Cat Ha.
Trinity: Emily Nicole Barringer, Anna Danielle Longuillo, Ashley Taylor Mangum, Nathan Blake Phillips.