RCC Inducts 56 Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

ASHEBORO (November 28, 2017)

Written by Toni Formato, Phi Theta Kappa Public Relations Officer

On Saturday, Nov. 18, Beta Theta Rho, the local Five Star Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Randolph Community College, welcomed 56 new members during its fall Induction Ceremony, which took place in the R. Alton Cox Learning Resources Center auditorium on the Asheboro Campus.

Thirty-five students attended the fall PTK induction.

Randolph Community College welcomed 56 new Phi Theta Kappa scholars on Nov. 18, with the 35 pictured here attending the ceremony.

Thirty-five attended the ceremony opened by Katherine Tejeda, Beta Theta Rho vice president, with the Pledge of Allegiance. She was followed by Toni Formato, public relations officer, who provided the invocation.

Clark Adams, RCC English/Communication instructor and one of the chapter advisors, welcomed the crowd and explained Phi Theta Kappa’s purpose and mission. “Leadership, fellowship, scholarship, and service,” were the main points that Adams spoke of to describe Phi Theta Kappa. Adams recognized RCC’s faculty and staff, administration, Board of Trustees, as well as Beta Theta Rho’s officers and advisors. Adams then introduced speaker Natalie Caviness, who is an event planning assistant for the City of Asheboro and a graduate of Randolph Early College High School, Randolph Community College, and Elon University.

Caviness explained that she was a member of the inaugural class of Randolph Early College High School. She served in RCC’s Student Government Association, Phi Theta Kappa, and was also selected as a scholar in the inaugural class of RCC’s Student Leadership Academy. Caviness spoke about Phi Theta Kappa’s hallmarks of leadership, fellowship, scholarship and service. She explained how much being involved in not only Beta Theta Rho, but RCC, had impacted her life with each hallmark mentioned. Caviness went on to talk about what happened after she graduated from RCC and explained that two years ago, she had to have a kidney transplant. She told the crowd about how much she learned about herself during this period in her life and how everyone will have challenges, but it’s important to overcome and learn from them. Caviness closed by telling the inductees that RCC was only the beginning of what was to come, and congratulated them on their academic success.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Robert S. Shackleford Jr., who has been president of RCC since January 1, 2007. Shackleford spoke to the inductees with encouraging words and shared several stories with the audience, including one that was about a bee. He explained to the audience that engineers who were trying to get their helicopter to fly decided to study how bees fly because, in a way, the two were similar with their big bodies and little wings. The engineers studied the bees for months, and when asked what they had discovered, one man replied with, “Bees cannot fly.” Of course, this was confusing to the other engineers. The man then said, “Bees cannot fly, but they believe they can fly.” Shackleford went on to explain that if you believe in yourself and put in the hard work, you will succeed.

Kendra Wise, admissions and enrollment coordinator at Salem College, then spoke about a scholarship to Salem College that PTK members would be eligible for upon transferring.

Sherry Underwood, president of Beta Theta Rho, explained the significance of the carnation as the symbol of Phi Theta Kappa and led the new inductees in the PTK pledge. Chad Williams, vice president for student services, introduced the inductees. Inductees first signed the PTK booklet, which was held by Denise Greenwell, Beta Theta Rho’s treasurer. Once the booklet was signed, Taylor Robinson, Beta Theta Rho secretary, handed each inductee a carnation. The inductees went on to receive their Phi Theta Kappa membership certificate, and then to receive their scholarship from Salem College. Jessica Brooks and Samantha Capers, who are both PTK members, served as ushers for the ceremony.

A reception in the Armadillo Café followed the ceremony and was hosted by other RCC PTK advisors: Dolores DeHaro (Spanish instructor), Gabby Nall (Spanish instructor), and Ellen Adams (Mathematics instructor). Scotty Duyck (department head, Social/Behavioral Sciences) is also a Phi Theta Kappa advisor and assisted with the ceremony.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the only international honor society serving two-year institutions. It recognizes the academic achievement and integrity of students enrolled in curriculum programs. Students who are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa must have completed 12 credit hours and must possess a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Beta Theta Rho was chartered on Nov. 1, 1999, and has maintained a Five Star status for 14 consecutive years. This Five Star status recognizes chapters that have completed every requirement set by Phi Theta Kappa and for chapters that go above and beyond to make sure their projects are the very best they can be.

Students (identified by hometowns) who were inducted on Nov. 18 include the following:
Archdale: Aqsa Abdul.
Asheboro: Lenny Eugene Andrews, Teresita De Jesus Ramirez Arellano, Cody Joseph Badeaux, Angela Blair Barker, Larry F. Barnes, Ruby Lowe Bridges, Lurdes Bueno, Cindy Lee Bunting, Pamela Belle Clawson, Hollis Marie Elkes, Jaime Rabadan Estrada, Allison Nicole Godwin, Sara Elizabeth Hayden, Hannah Jade Holleman, Matthew Kirkman Morgan, Jonathan Page Mroczkowski, Lori Elizabeth Proctor, Eddy Bernal Velazquez, Brittany Annette Waddell, Taylor Colleen Wallace, Jaedyn Mikaeyla Wood, Charles Wayne Woolard, Orion Alexander Yountz.
Bennett: Angela Marie Davis.
Candor: Araceli Medina Munoz.
Clemmons: Jessica Lynn Stout.
Franklinville: Katie Lyn Melvin, Elizabeth Yvonne Randall, Hayley Marie Routh, Christina Miles Zink.
High Point: Jewell Marie Wushu Caputa, Zachary Bryan Gaefke.
Liberty: Landon Kyte Bare.
Pleasant Garden: Hannah Taylor Joyce, Tymber Michelle Reidy.
Ramseur: Robert Sebastian Crawford, Geraldin Garcia, Mallorie Faith James, Jose Martin Lopez. Bautista, Georgina Ricarda Mena Rosas, Lisanta Monique Shuford.
Randleman: Rhonda Kay Brocklebank, Christopher Dale Oakes, Alec Rhiley-Avery Poupore, Anthony Scott Pyrtle.
Seagrove: Emily Elizabeth Doll, Amber Gray Johnson.
Sophia: Andrew Wayne Higgins, Kailyn Elizabeth Rhue.
Thomasville: Zoe MacKenzie McDowell.
Trinity: Rebecca Jean Hall, Faith Jean Hankins, Sarah Rozella Uribe.
Troy: Hannah Danielle Sisk.
Wadesboro: Benjamin Spencer Rivers.