RCC Inducts 66 Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

ASHEBORO (April 14, 2017)

On Saturday, April 8, 2017, Beta Theta Rho, the local Five Star Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Randolph Community College, welcomed 66 new members during its Spring Induction Ceremony which took place in the R. Alton Cox Learning Resources Center auditorium on the Asheboro Campus.

The 43 students pictured here were inducted into RCC's Phi Theta Kappa honor society on April 6.
Clark Adams (left) and Dr. Robert Shackleford (right) honor Waymon Martin for 15 years of service as a PTK advisor.

TOP:Randolph Community College welcomed 66 new Phi Theta Kappa scholars on April 6, with the 43 pictured here attending the ceremony.

PTK advisor Clark Adams (from left) recognizes Waymon Martin, who has been a PTK advisor since 2002, while RCC President Robert S. Shackleford looks on.

Once the inductees were seated, Davin Rammani, Beta Theta Rho treasurer, lead the Pledge of Allegiance, which was followed by Sherry Underwood, president of Beta Theta Rho, who provided the invocation. 

Clark Adams, RCC English/Communication instructor and one of the chapter advisors, welcomed the crowd and explained what Phi Theta Kappa’s purpose and mission is. “Leadership, fellowship, scholarship, and service,” were the main points that Adams spoke of to describe Phi Theta Kappa. Adams also explained that Phi Theta Kappa is about giving more than the minimal effort.    Adams recognized college employees, administration, and other Phi Theta Kappa advisors for their support in making Beta Theta Rho successful. Adams then introduced Waymon Martin, department head, Business Administration, and Phi Theta Kappa advisor, pointing out Martin as one of the main reasons why Beta Theta Rho had been so successful.

Martin talked about all the adventures he had experienced since becoming an advisor of the organization in 2002. Martin spoke about one of Beta Theta Rho’s most interesting college projects, which was the “Cigarette Butt Cleanup Project.” RCC became a tobacco free campus in 2010 so members of Phi Theta Kappa gathered together to pick up trash bag loads of cigarette butts throughout the campus. Martin explained that he would be retiring this year and spoke about the joys he had experienced in being an advisor for Phi Theta Kappa.

Martin was then surprised with special recognition of his service to Phi Theta Kappa with a 15-year service pin, Honorary Membership in Phi Theta Kappa, and the naming of the Waymon C. Martin Phi Theta Scholarship through the Randolph Community College Foundation.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Robert S. Shackleford Jr., who has been president of RCC since January 1, 2007. Shackleford spoke to the inductees with encouraging words. Shackleford told a couple of stories to the audience including one story that was about two men walking in a desert for miles. A wise man told the men to take their bags and pick up every single rock they saw as they walked the many miles ahead of them. One man decided to give up and stop picking up the rocks while the other man continued to pick up every single rock as he struggled to walk with the heavy bag. Once the men finished their journey, the wise man told them to empty their bags and so they did, which revealed that the rocks had turned into gold nuggets. “Your education and efforts are the rocks that turn into gold nuggets,” Shackleford said to the inductees.

Anne Donovan, admissions and enrollment coordinator at Salem College, then spoke about the benefits of being in Phi Theta Kappa, including a $15,000 scholarship to Salem College that PTK members are eligible for upon transfer.

Clark Adams presided over the ceremony and inducted the new members while Sherry Underwood, president of Beta Theta Rho, explained to the audience the significance of the carnation as the symbol of Phi Theta Kappa and led the new inductees in the Phi Theta Kappa pledge. Underwood also handed out carnations to each inductee.

Zeno Phu, former treasurer of Beta Theta Rho, and Joshua Castro, Phi Theta Kappa member, served as the ushers for the ceremony.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the only international honor society serving two-year institutions. It recognizes the academic achievement and integrity of students enrolled in curriculum programs. Students who are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa must have completed 12 credit hours and must possess a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.          

Beta Theta Rho, Randolph Community College’s Chapter, was charted on Nov. 1, 1999. RCC’s chapter has maintained a Five Star status for 14 consecutive years. This Five Star status requires chapters who have completed every requirement set by Phi Theta Kappa and for chapters that go above and beyond to make sure its projects are the very best they can be.

Students (identified by hometowns) who were inducted on April 8 include the following:
Archdale:  Lauren Nicole White.
Asheboro:  Michelle Nicole Chavez, Aimee Sarvis Corning, Maria Fernanda Cruz Rivera, Maria Jose Cruz Rivera, Felisa Killings English, Celete Azucena Escobar, Jasmin Esmeralda Faz, Joseph Richard Herring, Brandy Jean Hill, Morgan Rhae Kinney, Nicole Alison Kropf, Tonie Deondia Owens, Taylor Kay Robinson, Isaac Alexander Rumbley, Morgan Nicole Sexton, Wendi Michelle Stanley, Katherine Camila Tejeda.
Bennett: Kristen Eve Garner.
Biscoe: Jazmin Marie Arzate.
Denton: Melina Ann Delk, Toni Maria Formato.
Franklinville: Rosa Isela Beiza, Tammy Rich Brady, Bernadine Florence Hernandez, Mickaela Ann Toomes.
Greensboro: Sherri Nicole Jones.
High Point: Dana Richardson Dillon, Dominic Worth Gillispie.
Jamestown: Syeeda Naheed Abbas.
Lexington: Daniel William Busey.
Liberty: Kirsten Emeral Holt.
Pleasant Garden: Patricia Moore Hooker, Pamela Rowe Squibb.
Ramseur: Alyssa Brook Hollady, Adriana Lynn Scheuering, Austin Lloyd Smyre.
Randleman: Karen Dawn Aldridge, Joanna Flores Cambron, Taylor Elaine Grubb, Chasity Lou Hartke, David Charles Jennette, Heather Denise Jobe, Vanessa Lara, Andrew John Miraron Lyon, Nicholas Frazier McCaskill, Amanda Gail Parson, Kristen Nicole Smith, Jayde Frankera Trabert, Dominic Lucien Trumenne, Mariela Valencia.
Seagrove: Ian Daniel Bourgeois, Douglas Robert McDowell, Taylor Nicole Woodard.
Siler City: Dalton Lee Brown, Antonia April Mickle, Candace M. Williams.
Sophia: Alexis Paige Baker, Callie Haven Church, Hailey Dane Hartley.
Staley: Jessica Lauren Brooks.
Star: Yesenia Solis.
Thomasville: Alexander MacKenzie Faircloth.
Trinity: Amelia Ann Bryan, Shelby Nichole Hill, Makayla Abigail Kulick.