Print Page

RCC Holds Combined Career College Graduation,
Compensatory Education Awards Ceremony

ASHEBORO (June 13, 2014)

Christopher Holmes receives the Dean's Award
Career College graduates

TOP: Christopher Holmes of Ramseur, seen here being congratulated by RCC President Robert Shackleford, received the Dean’s Award during RCC’s recent Career College Graduation and Compensatory Education Awards Ceremony..

BOTTOM: RCC President Robert Shackleford congratulates Brittany Bolwerk of Climax on her Career College graduation. In the background, from left, are graduates Emily Chauncey, Kendall Garner, and Michael Harrell. Also graduating, but not pictured, was Dexter Atkins.

Last month, Randolph Community College’s College and Career Readiness program awarded five Career College students certificates in Hospitality & Tourism or Automotive Assistant. In addition, Christopher Holmes was presented with the Dean’s Award and 90 excellence awards were presented to Compensatory Education students. The diplomas and awards were presented by Ashley Moody, director of adult basic education and adult high school; Tonya Monroe, director of compensatory education; and Dr. Robert S. Shackleford Jr., RCC president.
Brittany Bolwerk and Michael Harrell, two of the Career College graduates, gave reflections on their experience in the program. Career College is a 16-week certificate program for adults with intellectual or developmental disabilities or for students struggling in curriculum and GED classes. Students receive hands-on practicum experience within two programs of study. This entry-level program provides a foundation for transitioning into a career or additional coursework.
The Career Colleges graduates were Dexter Atkins and Kendall Garner of Asheboro; Brittany Bolwerk, of Climax; Michael Harrell of Greensboro; and Emily Chauncey of Sophia.
Awards were presented to Compensatory Education students in attendance, math, writing, social studies, and technology. Categories also included Most Outstanding Student, Most Improved Student, and Excellence in the Greenhouse.
The Compensatory Education programs focus on helping individuals with intellectual disabilities become as independent and self-directed as possible through acquiring basic and life skills needed to function successfully in daily living. Classes are free and offered at RCC’s Asheboro and Archdale locations, Vocational Opportunities in the Community (VOC), and Innovative Opportunities of the Triad (formerly Randolph Vocational Workshop) during the fall, spring and summer semesters.
Following are the Compensatory Education awards presented (cities not available):
Most Outstanding Student Awards: Cheryl Bodenhamer, Sharon Brady, Michelle Cheek, Amanda Craven, Krista Davis, Mandy Forrester, Matthew Gray, Aaron Hancock, Jason Holder, Meleah Lambeth, Nicole Routh, Samantha Singleton, Lucille Stanley, Jeffrey Tucker.
Most Improved Student Awards: Jesus Andrades, Allison Barrett, Jon Booth, Gloria Davis, Kevin Davis, Sue Ezzell, Linda Hamilton, Jason Holder, Ashley Lambert, Steven McDaniel, Brad Robbins, Quincy Tinnin, Jillian Tyndall.
Attendance Awards: Jon Booth, Arielle Brower, Robert Bullock, Warren Cason, Krista Davis, Patrick Ferguson, Troy Hare, Machelle Hartsoe, Jason Holder, Vestal Hughes, Cheyenne Hutchins, Clifford Kinney, Jacob Ray, Nicole Routh, Penny Sapp, Danny Shaver, Tristan Siler, Doug York.
Math Awards: Harold Caudill, Rebecca Cooper, Patrick Ferguson, Charlie Geren, Paul Hains, Christopher Holmes, Vestal Hughes, Lindsey Jackson, Pulani Kelly, Stephanie Luckado, Kevin Marsh, Joe Lee Marshall, Joseph McDowell.
Writing Awards: Carl Bivens, Alan Boone, Alma Clawson, Krista Davis, Mark Fields, Martine Garcia, Gabrielle Myatt, Charlie Norwood, Mark Owens, Calvin Ruggiero, Anna Scott, Angel Williamson
Technology Awards: Ashley Ayers, Dustin Bennett, Dillon Faulkner, Shawn Grant, Ricky Martin, Michael Russell, Tristan Siler, Neda Tysinger, Tiburcio Valdez.
Social Studies Awards: Erick Autry, John Keith Davis, Michael Tinnin.
Greenhouse Awards: Ariel Brower, Plant I.D. Award; Michelle Cheek, “Pot Washer” Award; Christopher Holmes, Golden Trowel Award; Meleah Lambeth, “The Good Helper” Award; Joe Lee Marshall, “I Can Do It” Award; Penny Sapp, “The Bad Bug” Award; Samantha Singleton, “Make It Work” Award; Jeffery Tucker, Mr. Personality Award.          

For more information on the Career College or Compensatory Education programs, contact Tonya Monroe at 336-633-0254.