Print Page

RCC BLET, Nursing and Radiography Ceremonies Recognize Several

ASHEBORO (June 10, 2014)

Academic Award winners
Scholarship winners

TOP: RCC Vice President for Instructional Services Anne Hockett presented Academic Excellence Awards to Basic Law Enforcement Training graduates (from left) Sean Craven, Brandon Hatfield, and Jaime Young in the 68th, 69th, and 70th BLET classes, respectively.

BOTTOM: Basic Law Enforcement Training students (from left) Leah Bingham, Molly Phillips and Kristia Shaw were presented scholarships from the RCC Foundation during the BLET School Recognition Ceremony on Friday, May 30. Bingham received the John Clark Chrisco Memorial Scholarship, and Phillips and Shaw both received a Michael N. Kidd Sr. BLET Uniform Scholarship.

Special recognition was given to high achieving students in three program areas at Randolph Community College during separate ceremonies held recently.
A record number of students completed RCC’s Basic Law Enforcement Training program this year comprising the 68th, 69th, and 70th classes. A Recognition Ceremony was held May 30 at Balfour Baptist Church.
Three students from the 68th class, a day class which included 17 students, won the Police Officer Physical Abilities Test (POPAT) Award: Cody Deviney, sponsored by Randleman Police Department, Thomas Zac Lemonds, sponsored by Moore County Sheriff’s Office, and Jamie Gurley, sponsored by the Randolph County Sheriff’s Office. Deviney also won the Firearms Proficiency Award. The Academic Award winner from the 68th class was Sean Craven, sponsored by Randolph County Sheriff’s Office.
In the 69th class, an evening class with 23 students, Michael Morris (Asheboro Police Department) won the POPAT Award; William Paul Canham (Randolph County Sheriff’s Office) won the Firearms Proficiency Award; and Brandon Hatfield (Asheboro Police Department) won the Academic Award. In addition, Leah Bingham (Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office) was presented with the John Clark Chrisco Memorial Scholarship and Molly Phillips (Asheboro Police Department) was presented with the Michael N. Kidd Sr. BLET Uniform Scholarship from the Randolph Community College Foundation.
Fourteen students made up the 70th BLET class, also a day class, with Trenton Dougan (Randolph County Sheriff’s Office) winning the POPAT Award, Raymond Shropshire III (Asheboro Policy Department) winning the Firearms Proficiency Award, and Jaime Young (Asheboro Police Department) receiving the Academic Award. Also in this class, Kristia Shaw (NCSU Police Department) was presented with the RCC Foundation’s Michael N. Kidd Sr. BLET Uniform Scholarship.
The Radiography program held a Pinning Ceremony on May 10 at Oakhurst Baptist Church, where Candace Fox of Lexington and Catherine Kye of Randleman received Academic Achievement Awards and Jennifer Lowe of Asheboro received the Clinical Excellence Award.
At the Associate Degree Nursing Pinning Ceremony, also held on May 10 at Oakhurst Baptist Church, Johanna Mena Rosas of Asheboro received the Spirit of Caring Award, Gabriella Santanella-Small of Asheboro received the Academic Nursing Excellence Award, Tatum Hunt of Asheboro received the Nursing Excellence Award, Amy Blankenship of Randleman received the Leadership Award, and Ashley Hurley of Asheboro received the Barrington Clinical Excellence Award.