Print Page

RCC Inducts Largest Phi Theta Kappa Class

ASHEBORO (April 1, 2014)
Release written by PTK Public Relations Officer Elena Carleo

Group one of new Phi Theta Kappa members
Group two of new Phi Theta Kappa members

Randolph Community College inducted its largest class of Phi Theta Kappa scholars ever on March 29. Sixty-four (pictured in these two photos) of the 100 students inducted this spring attended the ceremony.

Beta Theta Rho, the local Five Star Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Randolph Community College, welcomed 100 new members to its ranks during its Spring Induction Ceremony on March 29, in the R. Alton Cox Learning Resources Center auditorium on the Asheboro Campus. This is the largest number of students inducted in one semester since the chapter was chartered in November 1999, breaking the previous record of 70.
Becky Pell, Beta Theta Rho treasurer, led the Pledge of Allegiance, followed by Vice President Tommy Smith who provided the invocation. Clark Adams, chapter advisor, welcomed the crowd and explained the mission and purpose of Phi Theta Kappa. He explained to the capacity crowd that Phi Theta Kappa is about giving extra in terms of time and effort. “These are not ordinary students; these are extraordinary students,” said Adams. Adams mentioned that being extraordinary means doing that little something extra, such as extra study and preparation, extra work, extra reading, and extra research.
The guest speaker was a Phi Theta Kappa alumni and graduate of the first class of Randolph Early College High School, Megan Cates, who is currently a Life Skills teacher at Ragsdale High School in Jamestown, N.C. She spoke to the inductees about being trailblazers. She encouraged them to take the lead and to be part of something “bigger than yourself.” Her advice was to focus on the four pillars of Phi Theta Kappa: leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service. The inductees were told to set the example and encourage others, to be lifelong learners, to help one another grow, and to be active in their chapter, school, and community. She concluded by telling them that their time at Randolph Community College is not the end of their education, but the beginning.
RCC President Robert Shackleford was the keynote speaker. He addressed the new members, offering advice and encouragement. The main focus of his message was the importance of good character. He told the audience that life is not about how much a person knows, but how they act. The inductees were advised to add character to their scholarship. Dr. Shackleford also presented Waymon Martin, department head for Business Administration and chapter advisor, with the distinguished Phi Theta Kappa 10-year pin, a special honor given only to those who have devoted a decade of their lives as an advisor for their chapter. Martin is in his 11th year as an advisor.
Dr. James W. Kelley, vice president of student services, presided over the ceremony and inducted the new members. Student officers of the local chapter played key roles in the ceremony. Danielle McNeill, who serves as president, told the audience about the significance of the carnation as a symbol of Phi Theta Kappa. Secretary Joy Miller handed out the carnations to the inductees, while Tommy Smith was in charge of the membership book. Phi Theta Kappa members Joshua Hardin and Matthew Hardin served as ushers for the ceremony.
Of the 100 inductees, 64 participated in the ceremony, overflowing the auditorium and corridors with their family and friends. Students and their guests were invited to enjoy light refreshments and fellowship in the Armadillo Cafe following the induction.
Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the only international honor society serving two-year institutions. It recognizes the academic achievement and integrity of students enrolled in the associate degree program. Students who are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa must have completed 12 credit hours and must possess a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.
Beta Theta Rho was chartered in November 1999 and has inducted over 2,000 students in the past 14 years. The Five Star status recognizes chapters that have met a higher standard of quality programming. RCC’s chapter has maintained Five Star status for 11 consecutive years.
Currently, the advisors for Beta Theta Rho are Waymon Martin; Clark Adams, English/Communication instructor; Melissa Earliwine, Developmental Mathematics instructor; and Dorothy Hans, English/Reading instructor.

New PTK members (identified by hometowns) who were inducted Saturday included the following:
Apex: Ashley Nichole Hutchinson.
Archdale: Cinya Dionne Brand, Amber Marie Moorefield.
Asheboro: Hanan Raji Alazzam, Brandy Jean Allred, Demaris Jo Anderson, Jose Nazario Badillo, Connor William Bryant, Ivey Alana Byrd, Jesse Gerald Byrd, Edward Boyd Commins, Katherine Mary Craven, Elton Warren East, Heather Nicole Grant, Donna Kaye Hamilton, Alan James Holt, Miranda Lee Hunter, Ronald Davis Hyler, Jocelyn Jaimes, Richard Neil Johnson, Sandra Kaye Johnson, Sheila Floyd Jones, Emma Paige Lambirth, Matthew Edward Laughlin, Eunice Yoo Lee, Mickaela Lee Locke, Torey Saige Loewen, Kylar David Martin, Angela Kent Melcher, Carson Lee Moore. Lacie Nicole Morrison, Abi Nicole Nelms, Rebecca Denise Nelson, Braden Elizabeth Newlin, Andrea Michelle Ortiz, Lizbeth Ortiz, Seth Hopkins Parrish, Alyson Sue Poole, Vanessa Myriam Robles, Charity Celest Scott, Joseph Marcus Seal, Milton L. Staley, Katherine Jean Stanton, Steven Anthony Strickland II, Rachelle Reid Tyson, Joseph Earl Vanbencoten, Kenneth Paul Way, Anthony Wayne Williams, Madison Dawn Williams, Shea Tieran Williamson, Ralph Eugene Woodle.
Climax: Bonnie June Smith.
Denton: Timothy Ray Hill, Chastity Amanda Spencer.
Eagle Springs: Jonathan Adam Cole.
Franklinville: Emily Joann Farr, Allison Caroline Layton.
Liberty: Jodie Shannon Caviness, Isaac Christian Ferguson, Stephanie Ann Hanyok, Kara Moriah Kivett, Wendy Johnson Runyon.
New London: Ragan Alyse Restivo.
Pleasant Garden: Erin Lee Barker, Deborah Willard Kennedy.
Ramseur: Sarah Renee Stryker, April Lynn Taylor.
Randleman: Joshua Craig Bowers, Tamara Gayle Callicutt, Brenda Lee Cook, Danielle Medina Corona, Mamie Hobson Fogleman, Winston Seth Henderson, Thomas Joel Hobson II, Mary Abigail Jenkins, Jamie Lynn Perez, Shannon Nicole Rogers, Adonna Ruth Shore, Audrey McCourry Weatherford, Austin James Whatley, Daniel James Willis, Jordan Elizabeth Willis.
Robbins: Julie Nicole Williams.
Seagrove: Ivy Marie Lindsey, Noah Dane Lowdermilk.
Siler City: Nancy Anne Foust, Quinton Jordae Hill, Abigail Raye Shoun.
Sophia: Hilari Nicole Liner, Cassandra Patricia McElreavy, Charity Faye Miller, Emily Marie Moran, Caleb Michael Simmons, Debra Bowman Thompson, Mary Christina Vuncannon.
Staley: Lorie Ann Garland.
Thomasville: Brandy Nicole Underwood.
Trinity: Ashley Marie Bodenheimer, Thomas Jake Hunsucker, Justin James Lackey.