Print Page

Auto Safety Inspection and OBD Certification

 

REGISTER NOW

Students taking Auto Safety, OBD Certification, or any recertification should apply the following criteria in selecting the appropriate course:

1. If you need both the initial Auto Safety Inspection and the OBD certifications, then take the entire 16 hours of the Auto Safety Inspection and OBD Emissions Certification course.
2. If you need only the initial Auto Safety Inspection certification, then take the 8 hour NC Auto Safety Certification course.
3. If you need only the initial OBD Emissions certification, then take the 8 hour NC OBD II Certification course.
4. If you need to recertify as an Auto Safety Inspector, then you will take the NC Auto Safety Certification course. Auto Safety Inspectors must recertify every four years.
5. If you need to recertify for the OBD Emissions, then you must take the 4 hour NC OBD II Re-Certification course. OBD Emissions Inspectors must recertify every two years.

Auto Safety & OBD Emissions Control Inspection

($70 + $20 book for OBD if needed)
Prepares auto technicians and service personnel as safety inspectors for motor vehicles. Includes rules, regulations, and methods of inspection. Students must successfully pass a qualification examination for certification as a safety inspector at a licensed inspection station. Students taking both the Auto Safety Certification and OBD will be required to pay only one $70 registration fee plus the $20 materials fee for OBD, if needed (students may use their station's OBD Manual). Students needing Auto Safety Inspection only will attend the first two class sessions. Students needing OBD Emissions Certification only will attend the last two class sessions.
Asheboro, Richard Petty Education Center
45725 - 6-10P, MT, 8/4-8/12
47546 - 6-10P, MT, 8/18-8/26
47607 - 6-10P, MT, 9/8-9/16
47613 - 6-10P, MT, 10/6-10/14
47615 - 6-10P, MT, 11/3-11/11
47756 - 6-10P, MT, 12/1-12/9

N.C. Auto Safety Certification

($70)
This course is designed to meet the training requirements (initial and/or renewal) for the Auto Safety Program administered by the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles, License and Theft Bureau. To be licensed as a safety inspector, a mechanic must attend an 8 hour safety course and pass a state certification exam. In North Carolina, a licensed North Carolina Safety Inspection Mechanic performs the following tasks: Vehicle Safety - A safety inspection of a motor vehicle consists of an inspection of specific equipment to determine if the vehicle has the equipment required by general statute and if the equipment is in a safe operating condition.
Asheboro, Richard Petty Education Center
45726 - 6-10P, MT, 8/4-8/5
47608 - 6-10P, MT, 9/8-9/9
47614 - 6-10P, MT, 10/6-10/7
47616 - 6-10P, MT, 11/3-11/4
47757 - 6-10P, MT, 12/1-12/2

N.C. OBD II Certification

($70)
This course is designed to meet the training requirements (initial) for the OBD II Emissions Inspection administered by the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles, License and Theft Bureau. To be licensed as an emission inspector, a mechanic must attend an 8 hour emission course and pass a state certification exam. Topics covered in this course include an overview of DMV regulations, inspection procedures, and proper use of diagnostic equipment. In North Carolina, a licensed North Carolina OBD II Emission Inspection Mechanic performs the following tasks: Emissions - An emissions inspection of a motor vehicle consists of a visual inspection of the vehicle's emission control devices to determine if the devices are present, are properly connected, and are the correct type for the vehicle and an analysis of data provided by the on-board diagnostic (OBD) equipment installed by the vehicle manufacturer to identify any deterioration or malfunction in the operation of the vehicle that violates standards for the model year of the vehicle set by the Environmental Management Commission.
Asheboro, Richard Petty Education Center
45730 - 6-10P, MT, 8/11-8/13
47609 - 6-10P, MT, 9/15-9/16
47611 - 6-10P, MT, 10/13-10/14
47617 - 6-10P, MT, 11/10-11/11
47758 - 6-10P, MT, 12/8-12/9
47617 - 6-10P, MT, 11/10-11/11
47758 - 6-10P, MT, 12/8-12/9

N.C. OBD II Re-Certification

($70)
This recertification course satisfies the four-hour emissions refresher course requirement for OBD inspectors whose license expires two years after the date it was issued. Successful completion requires a passing score of a written test and a hands-on test in which the student is required to conduct an emissions inspection of a motor vehicle. Individuals may apply to renew their license by filing an application with the DMV on a LT-310 Action Form for Inspection/Mechanic Certification.
Asheboro, Richard Petty Education Center
45733 - 6-10P, Th, 8/7
47610 - 6-10P, Th, 9/11
47759 - 6-10P, Th, 10/9
47760 - 6-10P, Th, 11/6
47761 - 6-10P, Th, 12/4